Mostly Hair, Partially Shenanigans- October 2016

So, I’m not going to lie… this month hasn’t been too different from last month.

Hairbrush with strands of auburn hair stuck in itIn some ways the Alopecia Areata is getting better, in some it’s getting worse. Let’s start with the bad news. I got another new spot, just above my right temple, for a total of 3. This one’s been around for a few weeks and didn’t lose all of the hair. It’s also by far the smallest bald spot, measuring in at about the size of a dime. The one on the back of my head grew from about a quarter to a half dollar and the top of my head seems to have grown, but it’s still about the size of my palm, give or take. The whole thing has been emotionally taxing, to say the least. I feel pretty drained most of the time, and I frequently burst into tears over the loss. Even though it’s unbelievably upsetting, I find myself talking about it more than I’m sure my friends would like to hear, but they’re all wonderful and let me tell them about the research I’m doing on it and my hopes/fears about getting better/worse respectively. Since my last doctor’s appointment I made it perfectly clear to myself that I’d stay positive, even if I wavered a bit on the “all the time” part. Even though the internet is full of doom and gloom, most studies, articles, and even my doctor, tell me that there’s a very high recovery rate, and the fact that I haven’t lost all, or even half of my hair is a good sign. And having my eyebrows is an even better one.

alopecia-case-study-crown-of-head-shot-2-weeks-later.jpg

Hopefully this will be what mine looks like soon ❤

Now for the good news about my hair; it’s starting to grow back! Well at least I think it is. When I move my finger above the balding part of my head (the top of my head at least) there’s fuzz everywhere. I can’t yet see it in a mirror, but studies show that many of the hairs will grow in white and wispy-thin, and since my scalp is pretty light, I’m guessing that it’s just hard to see off a few mirrors and adequate indoor lighting. The fuzz feels kind of like rubbing my finger “against the grain” of my arm hair, if my arm hair was super short and stubbly, but the fact that there’s any hair at all I’d say is cause for celebration! I’m still losing more hair than usual, especially from the area around the balding spot… but if it all will grow back, I think I can live with having to wear a wig or a limited hair style for a few years!

Wooh, now that I’m done with the depressing stuff… things with my guy have been going great! He’s been working a lot this month, which is good, but going from seeing him almost daily to seeing him a few times a week, if that, is making me feel like a part of me is missing… which is horrible because I don’t want to be that needy person, but when life starts to feel more like a chick flick than an actual real thing, it’s nice to have that constant good. But it’s not a dream, my hair will remind me of that every time I almost forget to clip it over my bald patch!439cb5484bc7b5f7f0b5a4534af5e99be6e6e7a5c4452557ada3f7ceeb75ba12_1.jpg

As for work, I still have my same ol’ job, only now they’re having me do some social media management as the “Community Manager” – same pay. Sadly, a lot of people are leaving the company, or their contracts are expiring, as there becomes less to do on our projects and as they find other opportunities they find more suitable for them (‘tiz the nature of life). I’m also doing some additional writing as a sort of in-house writer! Which is pretty exciting for me, more than marketing for sure!

Speaking of writing, I’ve been keeping consistent with my daily writing post on my other blog Let’s Get Creative. Last month, I decided to begin writing my Flash Fiction 365 posts which are stand-alone stories of 100-365 words each and post one every day for the next 365 days. Fun, but a lot of work! This is one of my favorites so far:

017_meeting-people

Anyway, next month, November 2016, is going to be difficult, as I plan to participate in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and try to complete 50,000 words of my next book (and hopefully complete my first real novel!) All the while, I’ll still have to keep writing my flash fiction!

Wish me luck ❤

And I almost forgot, HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!!! Happy-Halloween1.jpg

Stay spooky my friends!

Leave a Reply

