Story of My Life #1(ish) – My First New York Visit, October 2015

So, I’m going to be setting an alarm on my phone for my posting schedule so I can actually remember to do this, because apparently life and video games are very distracting for me.

I just loved the way this picture turned out!

I just loved the way this picture turned out!

Anyhow, among other fun and drama-filled trips I took this year, one of the more recent ones (and one of the most anticipated for me) would be the trip I took to New York City with my mom (October 27th to November 1st). Let me start by saying that I’ve wanted to visit NYC since I was a kid (maybe 7 years old?), since my family would tell me I had a Brooklyn accent. Born in raised in Orange County, California, nobody understood why I sounded like a miniature New Yorker.

The High Line park had this beautiful area of old track that the park was built around with flowers growing out of it making a beautiful urban decay picture. Best part, it was raining!

The High Line park had this beautiful area of old track that the park was built around with flowers growing out of it making a beautiful urban decay picture. Best part, it was raining!

So, the first thing I noticed about the city, was that inside of the JFK airport, there is a mall that is fully equipped with everything you don’t need from a Victoria Secret store to a Metropolitan Museum of Art Gift Shop.

My New York to-do list was pretty short (for a one week visit):

  1. See the Statue of Liberty.
  2. See at least one Broadway play or musical.
  3. Take pictures of tall buildings from a street view where the tall buildings frame the shot with cars going by.
  4. Touch the ocean.
  5. Go to the Bowery Poetry Club and listen to Spoke Word poets.
  6. Visit the New York Library.
  7. Eat New York style pizza (something my mom added to my list).
Me standing at the base of the Statue of Liberty :)

Me standing at the base of the Statue of Liberty 🙂

So, I was able to achieve everything except for #4 and #5… I didn’t know where the ocean was because so much of the water around Manhattan (where I was staying) was a Bay/Harbor or a river. I couldn’t do #5 because the poetry readings happened on Monday and my plane landed that Tuesday, so that was a bummer.

I was surprised at how incredibly nice everyone that I talked to was. I’m not sure if it was because I was in a touristy area or what, but everyone was incredibly helpful and pleasant to be around. I’ve heard a lot of talk about how tough people from New York are, but the people in Los Angeles are much more abrasive from what I’ve noticed, unless you’re driving. I will never drive in New York City. I think there is some shop out there that makes bank rewiring people’s cars to sound their horn when they tap their brakes… I wish I took a video of it.

What I did:

  1. One of many Cityscape pictures!

    One of many Cityscape pictures!

    Took a tour bus around Downtown Manhattan and Harlem/Upper Manhattan.

  2. Saw the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.
  3. Got rained on! Rain is still a thing outside of California, who knew!?
  4. Went to a park called the High Line.
  5. Visited the New York Library.
  6. Saw the Halloween Parade.
  7. Rode on the Subway.
  8. Saw 2 Musicals and 1 Play on Broadway.
  9. Had New York pizza.
  10. Had a New York hot dog from a street food stand (damn was it expensive at $5, but it was pretty delicious).
  11. Stayed in a shoebox of a hotel.
  12. Was mistaken for a local at numerous restaurants.
  13. Had New York Cheesecake in New York!
  14. Wore a snazzy coat and was still pretty cold even though the locals were saying the weather was warm.
  15. Got lost.
  16. Saw Time Square in the day and the night.
  17. Took over 700 pictures of buildings.
  18. Decided I will move somewhere in New York for something between 3 and 5 years before I am 35. New York is expensive though, so I’ll have to start saving up.

All of the shows I saw were fantastic. I saw Hand to God, which is not a show for everyone, but if you li

It rained in Time Square and it was beautiful. This was the emptiest I saw Time Square the whole trip.

It rained in Time Square and it was beautiful. This was the emptiest I saw Time Square the whole trip.

This show probably had the best musical score I’ve heard in a while. I got the album and have been listening to it for the past few days on loop and it still hasn’t gotten old… yet.

Oh my goodness, the food here! New York pizza kicks California Pizza in the face, and I love CPK (California Pizza Kitchen)! Note: I am not promoting any sort of face kicking here, this was just amazing food. Their cheesecake was something to be savored, like I don’t think cheesecake factory can even compete to that taste! If you like pastrami sandwiches, get one on rye (just ask around for a good sandwich shop, or if you’re human-phobic use yelp) and you won’t regret it… probably.

Another amazing thing I got to do was go to something called the starlight diner. I had a salmon bagel, delicious! But the coolest thing about this diner is that the wait staff sings and dances around the diner when they’re not serving. I know what you’re probably thinking, but these are people who are aspiring Broadway actors and they all had to audition for their jobs as servers. This will be a must for every visit I have to the time square area going forward. It was so much fun. Expect to pay a bit more, but it’s food and a show!

Spiderman singing some songs from Grease at the Starlight Diner!

Spiderman singing some songs from Grease at the Starlight Diner!

I could go on forever, really, not even exaggerating, this is a beautiful and amazing city! I can’t wait to go back, even though I saw a rat crawl into the subway grates in my first half hour in the city.
I’ll always be a California girl, but I can’t wait to live in New York (and hopefully work at one of the many publishing houses, even as an invisible cog).

Leave a Reply

