In a Nutshell!

This past year flew by! I haven’t written about anything current since last march… 11 months! What was I thinking? So much has happened in this past year that I’m not entirely sure I can fit it all into a single post… but here’s for trying!

April 2014 – I honestly don’t know if I can do this per month…

Spring

Spring 2014 – Much Better! Acclimating to my new position in Marketing was a nervous transition. After a while I realized I did less here than I ever did over at QA. I wasn’t sure if it was because my bosses didn’t trust that I knew what I was doing (which was founded, I had no clue about anything marketing-related when they hired me) or if they were already so accustomed to their ways that they didn’t really have a place for me in their family. In any case, it was a lot of learning how to pace myself, a concept I was not all that familiar with… I did a lot of research on what was expected of entry level marketing and finally learned a few things that (hopefully) helped.

A few of the items you'll find on my Etsy shop ReadGameImagine

A few of the items you’ll find on my Etsy shop ReadGameImagine

With my At-work hours becoming less and less, I noticed I had much more time at home to focus on hobbies. Although I know I should have spent more time writing, I ended up picking up crochet and clay work again. With my crafts building up and my friend having just opened her own Etsy shop, I decided that maybe I should look into doing the same. Such is the birth of my own Etsy shop ReadGameImagine. As much as I love my little shop, I really didn’t design it to be a big cash cow. It’s primary existence is to find a new home for the crafty things I do for fun so that I can keep making them without trying to find places to put them in my already over-cluttered room. If you’re at all interested, you can check out my little online shop page Here.

Summer

Summer 2014 – Wow did a lot of stuff happen this season! It was around this time that I went to my first ever E3! If you are at all into gaming, this place is like Candyland! I walked into the secondary (I think it was secondary) hall where Nintendo, Sony and Microsoft had their booths (more like giant gaming displays of amazingness) set up and I could swear my eyes bulged so big they were going to fall out of my head. Granted I did have to work half the time I was there upstairs in one of the conference rooms greeting people as they came in for meetings with Little Orbit to look at our game lineup for 2014… but it was worth it. One of the days I was able to play Splatoon, one of the newest Nintendo license… character… title!

Gameplay Screenshot of Nintendo’s new game “Splatoon”… its way more fun than it looks (i know it kinda looks kiddy, but it’s fun for all ages! Image obtained from: http://blogs-images.forbes.com/davidewalt/files/2014/07/wiiu_splatoon_e3.jpg

The game was amazing. I hadn’t heard anything about it, but it’s a cute terf-war shooter where you play as a little squid character and are trying to cover as much of the map with your color ink as possible. I believe there were 8 players total, 4 per team, and it will be an online game. I haven’t really looked into it since, but even just thinking back at it makes me excited. I think the only part of E3 that had disappointed me was when I was playing a demo of Boarderlands: Pre-Sequel with a girl who had played the demo, according to her, 6 times… and she flew through the demo to where I was barely able to play at all. Very disappointing, especially after waiting for almost an hour to see it (it doesn’t matter too much now because I have the game and am actually planning to play some tonight!!). Unfortunately I was a bit salty from that for a few weeks after the show had ended.

This month also had a lot of non-work related drama going on. My best friend since middle school (7th grade to be precise) moved a few hours away. She actually just visited last weekend, but she really has only come out twice since. She seems happy though. My long-time boyfriend (and long-distance boyfriend) and I broke up. Nothing fancy really happened, but long distance with no foreseeable change is extremely difficult to overcome. We had been dating for almost 7 years and neither of us were really able/willing to relocate. The prospect of being separated physically for so long just became too overwhelming for me. As strange as it is. Since we broke up, he actually talks to me more. It went from talking for an average of about 20 minutes a day to over an hour a day… funny how things like that work out… Regardless I believe this is a good opportunity for both of us to find someone closer (within actual driving distance…) to date and make it work out. Something neither of us have done in our adult lives.

Autumn

Fall 2014 – Work finally picked up! I have become the primary contact between Little Orbit and First Party (Microsoft, Sony, Nintendo) for all marketing materials! Overall it’s been a great experience and I’m loving that I actually have work to keep my days busy.

My ex, Rob, carved the pirate kitty (left) and i carved the moon bat (right) sadly we had a very humid October this year, so even though they were only out for a few days they still molded before Halloween :(

My ex, Rob, carved the pirate kitty (left) and i carved the moon bat (right) sadly we had a very humid October this year, so even though they were only out for a few days they still molded before Halloween 😦

My ex visited for Halloween. We carved pumpkins and went to Knotts as well as 6 flags for their Halloween events. It was almost like we were still together, almost. The whole thing was very fun but I think we both saw this as sort of our “last hurrah” so to speak. We still talk and play video games, but things are finally returning to a more normal online friendship than a stressful long-distance relationship.

WInter

Winter 2014/January 2015 – Work has slowed down considerably. Not just for me either. Most of the QA department was laid off due to lack of projects. I am very grateful that I was able to keep my position even though there is so little to do Minecraftaround here these days. I try to keep myself busy with any tasks I can think of, though the minecraft icon in the corner of my screen grows tempting from the 4-6 PM hours… I think everyone is itching to get back to work. We all miss being busy enough for the day to fly by just that much faster.

Dating sucks. I should probably elaborate… Dating really sucks! Why do people have to be so… awkward! I’m sure I’m probably awkward too… but seriously, dating sucks. I’ll be sure to elaborate on this later. There are plenty of stories I’d love to share!

February 2015 – Work has been slow again. I think it comes in waves depending on the season. My Etsy shop has been doing great this year. I think this year I’m almost on par with sales of all of last year! A few great things that have happened at work are that my company is hosting a “create your own Adventure Time character” where the winner will be featured in the next Adventure Time game. I’m excited to see who wins! I was able to do some voice recording that may (or may not) be used in one of our upcoming games. This actually inspired me to work on some of the parody songs I’ve been writing and singing for youtube. My first one is the only one that’s actually up and is called “Do You Wanna Run A Dungeon” and it was recorded and edited at about 2 AM… The song was written at about 10 PM. The story behind that was basically I had just finished watching Frozen a few weeks prior and I was trying to get a friend of mine to run a dungeon with me in Guild Wars 2. I ended up typing out “Do you wanna run a dungeon, Some AC or some CoF (both dungeon names in guild wars 2) then the song kinda unfurled from there… and yes he did end up playing AC with me! Success! This probably should have been in an earlier season, but it seems relevant to February as I’m currently working on a Mario Kart parody to Taylor Swift’s “Shake it Off” even though I’m not a big fan of the song… the parody is titled “Race You All” and is not quite ready to be uploaded.

I pretty-much stopped dating. I’ll fill you in on some of the stories soon. One is a bit ongoing, unfortunately, but I will definitely share as soon as I have all the info for it!

As for the non-dating aspect of my social life… one of my best friends might be moving closer to me! (about 6 hours away) but MUCH closer than her current flying only distance. More on this as it develops! (as exciting as it is moving is always stressful, but its sure to be full of drama).

Sorry for the long post. It’s a bit of a challenge to fit a full year into a nutshell!

2 thoughts on “In a Nutshell!

Leave a Reply

