Day 4 – Animal Kingdom

By now, both of our feet hurt. No amount of shoe padding or hotel bathtub hot water soaks are rejuvenating enough to reset the neurons and possibly damaged tissue. We’re limping by the time we get into the park….

The Tree of Life at the center of Disneyworld's Animal Kingdom

The Tree of Life at the center of Disneyworld’s Animal Kingdom

And of course, everything changes when those front gates come into view! It’s like suddenly all of the energy surges through your body and you feel new, full of adrenaline, with an almost childlike ability to pretend you feel fine the second your parents say it’s time to go after hours of complaining.

I’m so incredibly bummed out that my camera died about halfway through this particular park, but the place was like a zoo, with rides! As much as I don’t like zoos, because animals don’t belong in cages, seeing so many cute and fluffy creatures at one time made me feel like a little kid and so excited to be there!

10176220_10203552566564132_1508834661_n

Escape from Everest Ride

There were three rides that I really remember going on. First was the “Escape from Everest” ride. This was a real roller coaster, not a 6 flags rollercoaster, but when we got off the ride, we could have sworn there was a part that went upside down. After looking it up, we found that it had a high banked turn that felt like it went upside down. I believe we were able to go on it a second time, just to be sure, but I can’t guarantee that was really how it happened.

The line for Escape from Everest snaked through a ton on interesting things, including a few sleeping arangements and many museum-like areas such as this exibit. It also included different large animal skulls!

The line for Escape from Everest snaked through a ton on interesting things, including a few sleeping arangements and many museum-like areas such as this exibit. It also included different large animal skulls!

The next ride that stood out to me was a dinosaur ride. This was an Indiana Jones (Disneyland) type ride. Really reminded me of it with how the cart moved, and all of the motions… but the story was different…. It involved dinosaurs and time travel, but I won’t give too much more away, because Disney rides, the story is a part of the experience! This one I do remember, we went on it twice.

Like many of the lines, the line for Dinosaurs wrapped around this cast dinosaur fossil with other casts mounted on the walls and some, what looked like actual fossils, stored behind glass.

Like many of the lines, the line for Dinosaurs wrapped around this cast dinosaur fossil with other casts mounted on the walls and some, what looked like actual fossils, stored behind glass.

As expected, I’ve saved the best for last. Easily the longest line in the park, we went on it both in the day and as the sun was going down, seeing different creatures each time. The ride was a safari through an Africa-styled area. The animal pens looked larger than I’ve seen at many zoos, and the animals seemed protected from one another. The safari driver told us that the landscapes and habitat areas were entirely maintained by the animals themselves, pointing out trees that were bulldozed and tusk marks left in the clay walls. My camera was alive for the first part of this so I was able to photograph giraffes, elephants, zebra, lions, a hippo, and even a rhino! We also did some walking trails after getting off the daytime safari and were able to see gorillas, kangaroo, ringtail leamurs, the world’s cutest monkey (I totally wanted to take this little guy home with me), and my personal favorite… bats!

 

Those were the 4 Days of Disney World Florida. Sorry it took so long for me to update everything! Now I can go ahead and write about all of the crazy things in my life since then! I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

