Day 3 – Epcot

I have been way behind on life and writing.

I’ve spent way too much time being busy or staring at walls and nowhere near enough time reading and writing, until last Thursday, the night before Halloween, when I was inspired to write by a dream… but that’s a story for another post, which I promise, will be posted!

Epcot Ball with their front floral display!

Epcot Ball with their front floral display!

Epcot was beautiful. We went during the Festival of Flowers… Season of Spring? Well, truth is I really don’t remember what they called it, there were Disney characters sculpted from flowers and plants everywhere! It was gorgeous! It had everything from Phineas and Ferb, to Snow White and the 7 dwarves!

Snow White and the 7 Dwarves

Snow White and the 7 Dwarves

After being distracted by all the pretty plant sculptures, we went on one of the coolest rides here, Test Track. You plugged in the stats for

Fineas and Ferb

Fineas and Ferb

your car that you made up while waiting in line (I love theme park lines that let you do something rather than sitting there and twiddling your thumbs for 2 hours, or in this century, poking at apps on your phone…). The ride was the test drive for your car, seeing how it handled in different situations, then finally doing a speed run… I believe our car went about 62 MPH (since the ride was based on your own stats) and the car next to us with 59. Very fun and highly recommended.

Did I mention, After the test track ride, they had a car sales floor! This was one of the cars they had for sale!!

Did I mention, After the test track ride, they had a car sales floor! This was one of the cars they had for sale!!

After lunch, our feet were getting tired, again… we took a boat ride through the Disney agricultural ride, Living with the Land. The ride was very informative and we were lucky enough to stand next to an older couple in line that chatted with us, making the line go much faster.

Lion King

Lion King

We did a lap around the world, I was attempting the “drink around the world” but around my third drink I decided that wasn’t going to happen. I did get to try angry orchard, which was surprisingly really good. A few of my favorite moments happened up at the “world” part of Epcot. First, was a lady who drew a mickey head with a broom, dustpan, and water on the sidewalk. Of course we had been sitting on a bench at the time, both our feet too sore to even stand for the next few minutes, about 30 would be pretty accurate. The next thing that stands out boldly in my memory was the Taiko show. Since I was a member of a Taiko Team in college, I insisted that we watch the show. It was an all lady group, non-traditional, but I wasn’t complaining. It was a beautifully done show that honestly made me want to see another performance by SF Taiko Dojo, which I was lucky enough to see perform a few years back at the Cherry Blossom Festival in Japan Town of San Francisco.

Mickey Head, drawn with Water, a broom, and a dustpan! the talent that even regular cast members have is astounding!

Mickey Head, drawn with Water, a broom, and a dustpan! the talent that even regular cast members have is astounding!

Taiko Drum - The Odaiko - in the Japan Area just before the show started

Taiko Drum – The Odaiko – in the Japan Area just before the show started

10010772_10203552646926141_642503822_o

I think this was China, but I am not entirely sure. This picture was taken from across the lake, on the other side of the “world” I think the ride “Small World” would have fit in better at this park….

Aside from the general awe-inspiring beauty of this park, it might have been my favorite of all 4 areas simply because of the night show. I got a great seat just at the waterline where I could sit, eat a crepe, and watch the show unfold. There was a family sitting next to me that apparently came to see the show often, or came to Disney world often, wasn’t quite sure why they were experts, but they explained the story of the show to me before anything started. Honestly, I probably wouldn’t have understood it without the explanation as I would have just been like “ooh pretty!!” the whole time and not making any sort of connection… Regardless, if you ever go to see it, here’s the story I was told: The Epcot night show is the story of the creation of the universe. It starts calm then suddenly there are large explosions and very fast paced music. This represents the big bang, or the beginning of time. As the show continues there are significant time marks that show the universe at different stages, honing in on Earth, showing the first hunters, and bringing it all the way into present day. The show was choreographed beautifully, and although I would have understood parts of it, I was glad to get an insight before it all started.

Firework Show

Firework Show

When the show ended, I was exhausted. I sat on the cold sidewalk, not really caring who saw while I waited for the shuttle to take us back to the hotel. A few other people followed suit, but I really was just at that point where all I wanted was to be off my feet…. I still had another full day of walking ahead… Desk jobs really do make your feet week!

Wizard Micky - Fantasia

Wizard Micky – Fantasia

Leave a Reply

