English Is a Pain! (Pane?)

I did not write this poem nor do I take credit for it. I remember reading it sometime in elementary school. Later, I found it in a pile of old stuff from elementary school and I could still relate. I wanted to post it because I believe it is a wonderful poem. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Rain, reign, rein,

English is a pain.
Although the words
sound just alike,
the spelling’s not the same!

Bee, be, B,
I’d rather climb a tree
than learn to spell
the same old word
not just one way, but three!

Sight, site, cite,
I try with all my might.
No matter which
I choose,
it’s not the one that’s right!

There, their, they’re,
I almost just don’t care.
Too many ways
to write one sound,
I just don’t think it’s fair!

To, two, too,
so what’s a kid to do?
I think I’ll go
to live on Mars
and leave this mess with ewe!(you?)

by Shirlee Curlee Bingham

7 thoughts on “English Is a Pain! (Pane?)

    • Shirlee Curlee Bingham says:

      If I had read your post before your presentation, I would have suggested omitting the word “just” in the 8th line–the poem reads/recites better that way. How did your presentation go?

      Like

  1. Shirlee Curlee Bingham says:

    Fun! I just came across your two-years-ago posting of my poem. Can’t sleep tonight and for some reason I googled my name, and up popped your blog. (Enjoyed reading about your job change, Disney trip and stolen battery.) When first published, “There, their, they’re,” was followed by “Enough to make you swear,” but some kind soul along the way changed it. I am honored that you remembered it, and chose to post it. Thanks! And all the best to you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

