Guild Wars 2

First picture I took of the first character I made in GW2 Open Beta (Human)

I am so excited for this game to be released! Yes I know when it finally does come out I wont be doing anything other than just sitting in front of my computer playing, on vent, trying to find people to join my guild etc. If you don’t play MMOs here’s a quick explanation. MMO is short for Massively Multiplayer Online and typically refers to MMORPG (Massively Multiplayer Online Role-Playing Game). A common example would be World of Warcraft (WoW).

Anyways, I’m not here to talk about WoW I’m here to talk about Guild Wars 2 (GW2) created by Arena Net. It is a squeal to Guild Wars (the game that the sculpture I made and posted about is from). Guild Wars was a CORPG (Competitive/Cooperative Online Role Playing Game) and the main difference I noticed is that the only place to see other players who are not in your party are within towns, outposts and Cities.

I’m getting off topic. What I wanted to write about was the open beta and stress test events GW2 has been showcasing in preparation for launch, whenever they decide to finally launch it. What a beta test is is the second round The graphics on this game are beautiful and the gameplay is different than any other MMO I’ve tried out in the sense that rather than buying your skills you unlock them. It’s kind of like experience for your skill bar. Every time you use an unlocked skill with the appropriate weapon (and for elementalists, elements) it progresses the next available skill until it is usable.

In this game there are not yet any mounts (on land, in water, or flying) however there is swimming and underwater exploration/fighting. I would have to say, however, that my favorite element to this game is the story. Now a days it seems many video games keep skimping on the story and emphasizing gameplay. I am sure a lot of people don’t really care that much as long as the game is fun to play, but why play a game if you don’t know why you’re doing what your’re doing? One example is Aion. It is another MMORPG with a loosely based story. Sure you can argue that the story is there and if you read the quest logs you can figure it out, but most of the cut scenes (a cinematic that shows the story being acted out)

Character creations for a Charr

typically just give a tutorial of what to do next.

So far, it is my experience that in GW2 the cut scenes are almost solely to progress the story that is so ingrained into the game that the writers came out with 2 novels and are working on a third in order to bridge the first and second game’s plots. The first game was primarily story. It could be written out with major characters, protagonists, antagonists, climax and resolution. Recently they added many side stories to help bridge the end of the original Guild Wars to the first book, “Ghosts of Ascalon.”

Although most of what they are doing for the game is customary (Closed and Open Beta Testing, Stress testing, Forums) I believe this game will have a very successful launch. Besides it already has over 500k “likes” on facebook and it doesn’t even have an official release date!  I wish the game the best of luck and I hope the story does not disappoint (I think they would have to try to make it bad from what I’ve seen so far).

Hope to see you in game!

Oh and here are some screen shots I took during the Beta Weekend Event and the Stress Test yesterday.

Elementalist in Charr city, The Black Citadel

Leave a Reply

